THE Ayrshire Under-18 team suffered defeat in their opening match of the 2017 West Of Scotland Inter County Under 18 League on April 30.

They went down 5-3 away from home to Renfrewshire at Erskine.

The Ayrshire team lost all four of the opening under 16 ties and despite three wins in the under 18 ties, a heavy defeat for Ewan Milligan signalled defeat for the team overall.

Match details (Renfrewshire team first): Johnathan Murphy (Erskine) beat Sean Addie (Ayr Belleisle) by 3 & 1; Cameron Johnstone (Eastwood) beat Ruben Lindsay (Ayr Belleisle) by 2 & 1; Roddy McAuley (Fereneze) beat Ross McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) by 4 &3; Aidan O'Hagan (Old Ranfurly) beat John McCracken (Irvine) by 8 &7; Greg McCaffer (Whitecraigs) lost to Jack Broun (Turnberry) by 3 & 1; Euan McNeill (Lochwinnoch) beat Ewan Milligan (Kilmarnock Barassie) by 7 & 6; Kevan Ingram (Port Glasgow) lost to Robbie Muir (Kilmarnock Barassie) by 4 & 2; Ibrahim Hussain (Eastwood) lost to Euan Ferguson (Turnberry) by one hole.

Ayrshire's next match is on Sunday, June 11 when they travel to meet Stirlingshire at Strathkendrick.

Meanwhile, the line-up for the second round of the 2017 Ayrshire Fourball Championship has now been confirmed.

In the outstanding first round ties, Gordon and Ian McKenzie (Annanhuill) had a walkover against Tommy & James O'Ware (Braehead) and now travel to Irvine in the next round.

Graeme Kerr and Gerry Reid (Alton) hand a 4 & 3 win away against Steven Jackson and Andy Graham (Wallacetown) and now host Irvine Ravenspark in round two whilst John McBean and Andy Brown (Ayr Belleisle) will travel to Drongan in round two following their opening round win at the 19th hole over John and Scott Bunyan (Tam O'Shanter).

Seamus Connor and Stuart Horsburgh (Malletsheugh) are through to the third round. They were due to play either Auchenhavie 88 or Troon St Meddans in round two, but both teams were scratched by the organisers after no result was reported between the teams and repeated attempts by the organisers to contact the teams involved proved fruitless.

In the one second round tie played so far, Robert Liddell and William Smith (Caprington) beat Eric Borland and James Bryden (The Chase) 3 &2.

The full draw for round two, which is to be played by May 28 is as follows: Steven Wells and Gordon Storar (Irvine) v Gordon McKenzie and Ian McKenzie (Annanhill);

Robert Martin and Andrew McBorland (Ayr Carrick)v Scott Cairns & Martin Cairns (Kilbirnie); Lee McGukin and Robert McGukin (Doon Valley) v David Addison & Philip Rooney (Rowallan Castle); Graeme Kerr and Gerry Reid (Alton); Archie McKie and Archie McKie (Irvine Ravenspark) v Drew McCutcheon and Colin Pettigrew (Drongan)

v John McBean and Andrew Brown (Ayr Belleisle); Adam Porter and Neil Stevenson (Ardeer) v John McNair and Stephen Miller (Ballochmyle); John Toal and Kevin Campbell (Glacier) v Craig Stevenson and Andy McConnell (Crosshouse); Graham Anderson and Graham Todd (Skelmorlie) v Stuart Wilson and Ross Livingston (Troon Portland); Alan Pole and Martin Cairns (Prestwick St Nicholas) v Tony Storrie and Robbie O'Brien (Ayr Seafield); Ian Smith and Steven Miller (Troon Welbeck) v Hugh Fyfe and Bobby Hill (Muirkirk); Douglas McCormick and Jamie McCrindle (Brunston Castle) v James Ross and Billy Whitten (Kilmarnock Barassie); Stephen Roarty and Paul Arnott (Prestwick St Cuthbert) v Willima Loghran and Kevin Rowe (Largs Routenburn); Tom McClements and John Mansfield (Troon Merchants) v Graeme Warnock and Craig Barr (NB Parkstone); Robert Stewart and Tony Kelly (Moorpark) v Sean Hedger and Brendan Tumilty (West Kilbride).

Third round ties are scheduled to be played by June 25.